Sugestions

6 Replies, 2272 Views

I don't know if any of you guys remember me from a few months ago, basically I'm just getting into RC's. I had some things come up in the past few months and was never able to finish throwing together my chassis (MST MS-01DS). Anyways, from what I've read in the instruction manual and what not, all I'm missing to have it running is the motor, esc, servo, and a battery and charger.. I'm still relatively new to all of this, so I'm not sure what I'm looking at to be completely honest, I was looking though motor/esc combos, but I'm not sure what compatible and what exactly I should be searching for power wise. I haven't really looked into servo's all that much, I'm really not sure what to look for in this department either. Same story with batteries and chargers, I'm kinda lost. I'd love for someone to drop some knowledge on me and maybe suggest some stuff, I'm still kinda on a budget, I'd like to be able to buy everything I need for around $200, but I don't wanna screw my self over in the long run. Thanks in advance to anyone with some insight, it's much appreciated.
(This post was last modified: 04-22-2014, 10:23 PM by asorbus.)
I'm pretty new to this all too
I took the easy route out and went with the rtr kit, but i did swap out some stock stuff
I bought the speed passion combo (esc + motor), for about 100 usd. They're sensorless, and I heard that's the way to go
You can get it from either Ebay or rcmart

Example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Speed-Passion-Br...27dc85f222

In terms of batteries and chargers, I went with some hobbyking ones.
From there I picked up a power supply, a turnigy accucell charger, and a 5000mah zippyflight battery, totaled around 77 usd

Hobbyking lipo come with HXT plugs (at least mine did), so i had to order an alligator to deans plug converter to plug it into my car, and an XT60 to banana adapter to plug it into the charger

or you could just kill the middleman and replace the battery's plug with a deans.