Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Clean slate, need help
Info 
Heads up for the long post, there is a TL;DR thingy below XD

BACKGROUND
So I'm pretty new to the whole car racing scene. I used to fly planes but got tired of that pretty quickly because wind is a thing. I always loved cars growing up so I decided to go into rc cars, specifically drifting them. I would get the crappy walmart ones but find that they are just too cheap and last about a month or so before it goes to crap. So it's time for me to invest in some high performance crap like the ones in magazines.

I have always loved arcade and racing sims, so much so that I built a racing rig that features a modified G27 racing wheel to simulate driving. And ever since NFSU2 came out (best arcade game), I have always exploited the drifting feature in that game. I also avidly play rally games and racing sims that actually have solid physics engines. So I am not really afraid of diving into CS over 50/50 for a beginner. I know how to drift/how to initiate drifts in simulations so I don't think it would be too big of a stretch to learn. Feel free to tell me wrong, and why XD

I am however a poor engineering student, so my budget is limited to at MOST $370 for now. I figure if I get better/hindered by my vehicle, then I can upgrade it. So I just want something that can get me started but has the best performance for the initial amount. I understand that most will require mods to the pulleys/gears? Not sure on the terminology yet for belt driven models. and also mods to the diffs. Keep in mind I am very mechanically minded so I can handle myself with most problems.

So if TL;DR: I like rc cars. I know how to drift/ know the "theory" behind it. I want to spend around 200-370 and go from there. Completely open to suggestions, I have been doing a lot of research and just need peoples opinions.

HELP ME WITH:
What chassis/start out model? I have been looking at
Tamiya TA03
MST MS01D RTR

What mods are important?