Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lexan body modification
Hi,

I'm new to the drift scene (but not RC, been doing RC for a while now, road and off road cars, and quads).  Got my 1st drift chassis all built and started to drift a little, but now it's time for a new drift body.  I've searched and see a lot of really nice bodies, but I've also notice these bodies all require modification to look nice.

This is where I'm stuck at, I'm waiting for my Tamiya RX-7 body to arrive along with Demi Works body kit.  How exactly do you know where to cut out the original body to fit the add on body parts. (i know how to cut well with an Xacto knife.)  How do you join the two cut pieces, hide the joint line, and won't a crash break the two pieces?  I've also read to use shoe goo.    

Does anyone know where i can find a guide to how on this. 

Thanks. 
Rev
Leave a little extra (around 1/4" if possible) on one of the pieces to use silicone adhesive to hold them together, the piece going behind the outer visible. Joint lines won't be 100% invisible, but the cleaner and straighter the cuts, and better the paint job it'll look like the real deal. It takes practice and patience.
I prefer clear RTV silicone adhesive as I've had ShoeGoo kinda ruin a paint job before, plus the RTV smells a little less harsh than ShoeGoo.
Yeah, harder crashes can/will cause them to come apart.
HPI Sprint 2 Flux - full carbon fiber/aluminum upgrades 50/50
HPI Sprint 2 Flux - RWD project
HPI RS4 Sport 3  - carbon fiber/aluminum shelf queen
(12-22-2015, 05:52 PM)wareagle84 Wrote:  Leave a little extra (around 1/4" if possible) on one of the pieces to use silicone adhesive to hold them together, the piece going behind the outer visible. Joint lines won't be 100% invisible, but the cleaner and straighter the cuts, and better the paint job it'll look like the real deal. It takes practice and patience.