Olastuens AE86 HPI Sprint 2 - Upgrades and modifications

25 Replies, 8359 Views

Well, 'bout time to do my first RC-car modifications. Had this Sprint 2 Flux for a couple of years now, and it's still stock. So far..

Took it out for a last run last week, with it's original rubber wheels, and gave it a descent trip around the area, including some gravel roads, before taking it inside and starting the modifications. It looks like sh*t right now Big Grin

[Image: DSC_8033.jpg]

[Image: DSC_8031.jpg]

[Image: DSC_8029.jpg]

[Image: DSC_8027.jpg]

[Image: DSC_8024.jpg]

As you can see, it's dirty, belts are worn out, and it definitely needs som TLC. I have some plans for the car, including doing a Stage-D Trueno AE86 body-kit. I will do some custom modifications on the body, with a bumperless rear, demi-works engine bay, paint, wheels and so on, and it's my first time doing it, so going all in is necessary! Wink

As for the chassis, I'm waiting for several items to arrive in the mailbox, including a front one-way diff, Yeah Racing damper set, Exotek Racing SPX PRO Carbon Fiber Chassis and Yeah Racing Aluminum Essential Conversion Kit. I will also lock the rear diff, and are also considering converting to a CS setup. Lots of work to do, hopefully it will also lots of fun Big Grin

I'm a big fan of suggestions and tips on what I could/should do, and some nice tips on how to do things, having in mind it's my first body modification Big Grin

I will update this post as the modifications keeps on, and new items arrive in the mailbox, so be patient with me Smile
(This post was last modified: 10-14-2014, 06:51 AM by Fredrik Olastuen.)
I would keep any drifter away from dirt. specially belt ones
[Image: 222_zpsccdcf383.jpg]

Here For the love of RC Drifting
(09-09-2014, 04:50 PM)dj nekkon Wrote: I would keep any drifter away from dirt. specially belt ones