Opinions on layout

14 Replies, 5938 Views

Opinions please.....
I have a lot of outdoor space to work with and I've drawn up a little something that I "think" would be a great layout. However, I'm a noob at this and I would like some feedback be it good or bad. If something about it can be changed don't hesitate to give suggestions. I may add to it or at least put it in an area on the property where I can expand it later. I also do not want to make the road to unrealistically wide and keep it somewhat scale-ish. I'd like to put some scale lights on the track as well. If anyone has any ideas on that I'd appreciate it. So far I'm thinking of using a Christmas light type design to provide the lighting via underground wiring.

My desire is to create a challenging course. I figured differing turn lengths and dimensions would keep things interesting. Should I go bigger?
I may put the track on an a slope. I'd like for it to be multidimensional if possible. No promises on that one but its possible with the available land and tools.

The shaded barrier area's would be designed to be removable.
Car taking the lower left corner to give somewhat of a scale reference.

Thanks.

[Image: 12372328945_46f3977c47_c.jpg]
IMG_20140207_155729[1] by r_w_azar, on Flickr
(This post was last modified: 02-08-2014, 02:50 AM by razar.)
It would be pretty cool if at least part of the track was on a slope. A banked turn or two would be sweet as well.
not a bad drawing. the only thing holding this back is a few of the 90* corners. these will totally strip speed and promote stall. also the really long C is a bit long and should be shortened up a bit Smile
Keep Drifting Fun
[Image: 9121590828_f56a93fe31_o.jpg]
Very similar to something I was working on.

Rob, I'd argue 90 degrees is OK. RC Drivers tend to forget realism. have the 90 degree corner, just don't make the fence/ barrier 90 degrees to a point. allow some leeway for error. There needs to be some challenges, slow points.