DriftMission RC Drift Forums - Your Home for RC Drifting!

Full Version: noob from scotland
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys,as said i'm a complete newbe to rc drift and for that matter anything rc thats half decent.i know nothing about set up(or whether I need to worry at this stage) or tecniques.been meening to do this for years but with family and building my house iv not managed TILL NOW!! thanks to my other half.to start with im running a stock HPI E10 and having great and frustrating fun so far,my main problem at this stage is surface or whats best to start on,iv got access to a polished concrete floor and also a large office space above my work that's very short pile carpet tile.any advice what surface I should stick to for learning control as going from 1 to other is causing me issues with throttle and steering input? thanks in advance and sorry for boring anyone!!!
Welcome to DM!
I'd go with smooth concrete, as it has the least friction.

Also, it will depend on your current tires. Are they the stock E10 fare?

There is a very good basic guide to tires here on on DM:

http://driftmission.com/guides/tire-camber-guide/
Welcome! I'm in a same boat as you.. it's a crazy big world out there.
Thanks guys
Yes car is as bought,think its t-drift tires as standard. thanks for link,always handy to get advice an know what the pro's are doing!! I'll stick to 1 surface and see where I get.first mod I think will be a change to brushless but going to keep with at present and try to master sum basics first, don't want to spend loads expecting an overnight miracle to find myself chucking the whole thing with frustration!!
Welcome!!!

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
Welcome to dm, I recommend starting with slipperiest surface, the slower the better.
Welcome to DM

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk
Welcome. Scotland drifters is quite a small group but hoping it grows.