DriftMission RC Drift Forums - Your Home for RC Drifting!

Full Version: Brand new to the game
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys i am a super noob when it comes to all of this stuff. I just recently bought a sakura d3 online and since i am such a noob at this i actually thought it came with a battery and motor and or a controller. so i need you guys to help me out. i have no clue what to get and or what i need specifically to actually have a running rc. If you guys know of a thread to show me that would be much appreciated seeing how it took me like an hour to figure out how to start a thread. I also want your opinions... what do you think would be best for a beginner like me? Any help at all... i would be extremely grateful.

thanks.
Welcome bro! Nothing wrong with being a noob, we all gotta start somewhere!

I meant to add more to my post so here goes...

The car. You bought a Sakura D3 so you'll need to assemble it. Though L-wrenches are supplied, it's a good idea to have a metric allen wrench set. That will make things so much easier. Long nose pliers, a hobby knife, side cutters, etc are all good to have. I work on real cars and having the right tool makes the job that much easier.

A radio. You'll need a surface channel controller with a minimum 2 channels. One for throttle and one for steering. You'll find 3 and 4 channel radios, but the extra channels are only useful if your car will need it. You can get something basic or you can get some crazy computerized getup, it all depends on your budget.

Servo. You will need a servo to steer the car. Most modern radios don't come with one. You'll also want something "standard sized". I prefer faster servos with a metal output shaft. Again, your budget will dictate what works for you. I absolutely do not recommend cheap all plastic servos (plastic gears and plastic output shaft)